Skip to content

About the Region

Region 6W is located along the South Dakota border in west central Minnesota. Region 6W consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, Swift and Yellow Medicine counties. The 2000 census identifies 3,346 square miles of land area within the region. There are thirty seven cities and ninety nine townships in the region. Of the region’s thirty seven (37) cities 70% or at least twenty five (25) of our communities have populations of less than 500.

Regional Profile

UMVRDC 2015 DEED Regional Profile

Big Stone County

Chippewa County

Lac qui Parle County

Swift County

Yellow Medicine County

Upper Sioux Community

Get Rural MN from Get Rural! on Vimeo.