Skip to content

City of Montevideo To Be Awarded For Excellence In Floodplain Management

by Dawn Hegland on May 14th, 2013

The City of Montevideo was informed on May 6th that they have received the National 2013 James Lee Witt Local Award for Excellence in Floodplain Management. The award is given annually by the Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM). The Award seeks to find and recognize outstanding programs or activities at the front lines of floodplain management, local programs where “the rubber meets the road”. The award is named after former FEMA Director, James Lee Witt, in recognition of his landmark efforts to support, enhance and encourage local floodplain management capabilities.

Greg Schwaegerl, Public Works Director for the City of Montevideo, will receive the award of behalf of the City on Thursday, June 13th at the ASFPM Annual Convention in Hartford, CT.

The Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) began in 1977 as the supporting organization of professionals involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, flood preparedness, and flood warning and recovery. It is the mission of the Association to mitigate the losses, costs and human suffering caused by flooding and to promote wise use of the natural and beneficial functions of floodplains. Today the ASFPM is the premier voice in floodplain management practice and policy throughout the nation. Over 6,500 national and chapter members represent local, state and federal government agencies, citizen groups, private consulting firms, academia, the insurance industry, and lenders. ASFPM’s influence is expressed through policy and practice changes that impact floodplain management in the U.S. and internationally. Their goals are simple: to help the public and private sectors:

  • reduce the loss of human life and property damage resulting from flooding;
  • preserve the natural and cultural values of floodplains;
  • promote flood mitigation for the prevention of loss and the wise use of floodplains; and
  • avoid actions that exacerbate flooding.

For more information contact:

Steve Jones, City Manager, or
Angie Steinbach, Community Development Director
City of Montevideo
103 Canton Avenue, P.O. Box 517
Montevideo, MN 56265


Association of State Floodplain Managers, Inc.
575 D’Onofrio Drive, Suite 200
Madison, WI 53719

From → News

Comments are closed.