Skip to content


The UMVRDC has a planning assistance contract with the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) to provide assistance, information and technical support for transportation issues affecting our region.

The UMVRDC has a Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) that meets to address various transportation issues. In addition, the UMVRDC participates in two Area Transportation Partnerships to prioritize projects for federal transportation funding.

Area Transportation Partnerships (ATP)

The UMVRDC is part of two Area Transportation Partnerships (ATP), the West Central ATP 4 and the Southwest ATP 8. The ATP is a committee of elected officials, city and county engineers, MnDOT staff, tribal leaders, public transit leaders that represent the areas contiguous with MnDOT District boundaries. Their role is to develop policy and program projects utilizing federal transportation funding from the Federal Highway Administration ( FHWA).

The UMVRDC hosts an annual transportation public meeting to share and collect comments on the draft lists of projects from both ATPs.

The UMVRDC appoints members to both ATPs. RDC Staff serve as technical advisors to the ATP, sub-committee members and ATP alternate members for the elected officials appointed. Current representatives are:

Southwest MN ATP

  • Gary Johnson – Yellow Medicine County Commissioner
  • Jim Dahlvang – Chippewa County Commissioner
  • Andy Sanders – Yellow Medicine County Engineer

West Central MN ATP

  • Rusty Dimberg – Big Stone County Township Association

Transportation Special Projects

The UMVRDC occasionally is involved with special projects at the local or statewide level. Some projects are developed and coordinated by the RDC due to a local request or contract. Other projects may include the RDC in various capacities – collecting local data or infrastructure mapping, serving on project committees representing our area, making special presentations or being the fiscal agent.

These are the special projects we are involved with:

County 5 Year Plans
Big Stone County
Lac qui Parle County
Yellow Medicine County
Chippewa County
Swift County

Post Archive